Augustana Faculty

50	Augustana Faculty 135	
51	The Professors 136	
52	Programs of Study 136	

50 Augustana Faculty

As the newest Faculty at the University of Alberta, Augustana is also one of the oldest educational institutions in the province. Augustana was founded as Camrose Lutheran College in 1910 by an association of Norwegian immigrant congregations. In its early years, it was primarily a high school recognized for the quality of its academic program and its endeavour to provide an education that extended beyond the intellect to "the heart and its affections." The College began offering university courses in the fall of 1959 as an affiliated college of the University of Alberta, and added a second year of university transfer in 1969. It became a university college in 1985, when its first B.A. degrees were granted. Augustana took its present name in 1991. The name refers to a Lutheran confession published in Augsburg in 1536, which became known more commonly in Scandinavia as "the Augustana."

At the time Augustana University College officially merged with the University of Alberta, on July 1, 2004, it granted baccalaureate degrees in arts, sciences, music, and management.

Augustana Faculty is committed to building on its reputation for rigorous, high-quality teaching. It offers small classes and personal attention from professors who are passionate about what they teach and who exemplify the kind of inquiry, creativity, and critical ethical reflection that they encourage of students. Augustana is also known for its experiential learning opportunities, internationally and in wilderness settings, and its fine arts, Nordic sports, and campus life programs. It is proud of its rural location, but its student body is drawn from across Alberta, Canada, and the world.

Augustana Faculty teaches about 1000 undergraduate students on picturesque residential campus in the small city of Camrose, 90 km southeast of Edmonton.

51 The Professors

Members of the Faculty

Officers of the Faculty

Acting Dean RI Epp, PhD

> Associate Dean, Academic Programs HVS Prest, PhD

Associate Dean, Teaching and Research J Hoddinott, PhD

Assistant Dean, Administration NL Juszkiewicz

Assistant Dean, External Relations TE Hanson, BA

Centre for Community Education — Director D Smeaton, BEd

Centre for Interdisciplinary Research in the Liberal Arts — Directors A-ML Link, PhD GB Osborne. PhD

Chester Ronning Centre for the Study of Religion and Public Life — Interim Director H-D Mündel, PhD

Faculty Departments

Fine Arts

Associate Professor and Chair KB Harder, MVA (Art)

Professors

PE Johnson, MA (Drama) MR Schlosser, DMus (Music)

Associate Professors KA Corcoran, MMus (Music) KB Harder, MVA (Art)

Assistant Professors

AT Hoefnagels, PhD (Music) A-ML Link, PhD (Art) LA Ries, DMus (Music) K Sutley, MFA (Drama)

Humanities

Professor and Chair PW Harland, PhD (English)

Professors

DW Dahle, PhD (Classical Studies)
PW Harland, PhD (English)
JG Johansen, PhD (English)
PM Merklinger, PhD (Philosophy)
H-D Mündel, PhD (Religious
Studies)
HVS Prest, PhD (English)
JO Spencer, PhD (French)

Associate Professors

KI Fordham, PhD (German) RD Milbrandt, PhD (English) IK Urberg, PhD (Scandinavian Studies) JLC Waschenfelder, PhD (Religious Studies) Assistant Professor VH Fielding, MA (French)

Physical Education

Associate Professor and Chair YM Becker, MA

Associate Professors M Asfeldt, MSc YM Becker, MA SL Lorenz, MA GD Snydmiller, MSc

Sciences

Associate Professor and Chair NC Haave, PhD (Biology)

Professors

HA Carter, PhD (Chemistry)
WW Hackborn, PhD
(Mathematics and Computing
Science)
J Hoddinott, PhD (Biology)
DG Larson, PhD (Biology)
JJJ Mohr, PhD (Computing
Science and Music)
M Mucz, PhD (Biology)
JO Olson, PhD (Chemistry)

Associate Professors D Audet, PhD (Biology) NC Haave, PhD (Biology) GT Hvenegaard, PhD (Geography) ML Lauber, MEd (Mathematics) GM Lotz, PhD (Physics and

Social Science

Acting Chair CH Beck, PhD

Mathematics)

Professors

RI Epp, PhD (Political Studies) TW Parker, PhD (Psychology)

Associate Professors

JW Horley, PhD (Psychology) VA Manaloor, PhD (Economics) PF Marentette, PhD (Psychology) P Mirejovsky, PhD (History) R-V Palo, MSc (History)

Assistant Professors

Y Fahmy, PhD (Economics) KC Hatt, PhD (Sociology) JM McTaggart, PhD (Sociology) M Méthot, PhD (History) GB Osborne, PhD (Sociology) SC Wilton, MA (Political Studies)

Additional Members of Faculty Council

President and Vice-Chancellor R Fraser, PhD

Registrar of the University CP Byrne, MBA

Administrative Officers
D Andreassen, LLB

CA Blades, CEFM MG Chytracek JD Hawkins, MA RE Hook, BA D Kilarski, STM A Roper DG Swanson, BSC BN Vall, MMFTh

Head Librarian - Augustana NE Goebel, MLIS

Reference Librarians A Mandeville, MLIS PJ Neff, MLIS

Sessional Staff 2 Representatives — 1 Full-Time, 1 Part-Time

Non-Academic Staff 2 Representatives

Student Representatives
President, Augustana Faculty
Students' Association
5 Additional representatives, 1
from each academic department

52 Programs of Study

As a Faculty of the University of Alberta, Augustana will offer four-year degree programs that have been approved by the General Faculties Council.

For updated information on Augustana Faculty programs, please consult the Augustana Faculty website at www.augustana.ca, or phone the Prospective Student Office at 1-800-661-8714 or (780) 679-1132.

Note: For Augustana Faculty's academic events schedule and its 2005-2006 Calendar, see www.augustana.ca.